× 1-800-946-2642 Home My Account Social / Forum Articles Contact My Cart
Shop Now
Select Your Car Type Sale Items Clearance Items New Items
   Forum Width:     Forum Type: 

 Posted: Sep 12, 2022 06:42AM
Total posts: 2218
Last post: Sep 30, 2022
Member since:Dec 29, 2004
Cars in Garage: 1
Photos: 9
WorkBench Posts: 0
It wouldn't be out of the question that the BCM might need a software reflash. We have seen strange electrical gremlins corrected by software reflash. Can't say for certain that this applies in your situation.

 Posted: Sep 12, 2022 05:22AM
Total posts: 399
Last post: Sep 12, 2022
Member since:Apr 4, 2005
Cars in Garage: 0
Photos: 0
WorkBench Posts: 0
US
Update!! Ok so I got my BCM back, supposedly they repaired it, but I’m not sure what was repaired but they claim It was repaired. However, since I had no power to the SatNav unit under the seat, I got a replacement unit and everything works now except I have no mini emblem on the screen and I have a read error on the drive.

The seller assured me the unit was in 100% working order and that the dvd that was in the unit won’t work because it is a 2003 DVD and my mini is a 2004. So I was able to remove my original 2004 DVD out of the old unit and inserted that into the new drive. Still get the same read error saying no Cd/dvd is in navigational Computer and another error saying it can’t be read. So now the seller is saying that the drive needs to be updated at the dealer so it will Work with my car since it didn’t originally Come in my car.

Is this correct? Sounds like he’s just covering his ass because he sold me a faulty unit but who knows.

Michael Joyner - Memphis, TN

 Posted: Aug 15, 2022 09:46AM
Total posts: 2218
Last post: Sep 30, 2022
Member since:Dec 29, 2004
Cars in Garage: 1
Photos: 9
WorkBench Posts: 0
Satnav is an option that needs to be enabled thru software. I wonder if the setting was disabled when the BCM went? I might recommend having the software re-flashed for the bcm - we have heard of cases where the software gets corrupted and causes 'electrical strangeness'...

 Posted: Aug 15, 2022 06:20AM
 Edited:  Aug 15, 2022 06:22AM
Total posts: 399
Last post: Sep 12, 2022
Member since:Apr 4, 2005
Cars in Garage: 0
Photos: 0
WorkBench Posts: 0
US
Haven’t measured supply voltage. This is what happened. The car sat for about a month because I was working over the road and the battery was totally dead. Jump started it and went to AutoZone and got a new battery. A lot of my electrical system wasn’t working properly so I had the BCM repaired. Got the BCM back, SatNav still didn’t work. It worked perfectly fine before the battery issue. Yes there is a DVD in the drive, just no power light on the unit or anything. I’ve checked every fuse in the car and every fuse is fine and not blown. But everything in the car worked perfectly fine before the battery died and I jump started it and replaced the battery. And no I didn’t hook up the jumper cables backwards. That was a question my mechanic asked me as well. Hahah

Michael Joyner - Memphis, TN

 Posted: Aug 15, 2022 03:46AM
Total posts: 2218
Last post: Sep 30, 2022
Member since:Dec 29, 2004
Cars in Garage: 1
Photos: 9
WorkBench Posts: 0
It sounds like it 'could' be the dvd unit, but that is simply our best guess based on the information you provided.

A couple thoughts come to mind:
Have you measured supply voltage at the unit, or are you assuming since the unit shows no life that the unit doesn't have power? Are you sure there is a dvd in the unit?

 Posted: Aug 13, 2022 05:15PM
Total posts: 399
Last post: Sep 12, 2022
Member since:Apr 4, 2005
Cars in Garage: 0
Photos: 0
WorkBench Posts: 0
US
Not sure if this has been asked before, if so please accept my apologies.

I need some help with my 04 R53 Cooper S. My SAT NAV screen Is blank. No Mini Wings, no nothing. I can see the back lighting on there but nothing in the screen at all. I checked the unit under the seat, no power light, Won’t eject DVD either. I’ve checked the fuses at the footwell panel and all are good. I thought my BCM was bad so I had that repaired and it still has no power to the unit.

So, does that mean the DVD unit is bad and I need to get another one or is there anything else I can try. I’m asking before I get a used one from eBay.

Thanks in advance!!!

Michael Joyner - Memphis, TN